Minnesota State Fair announces final acts for this year’s Grandstand lineup

The Current’s Music On-A-Stick featuring Trampled By Turtles with special guests Lord Huron & Lissie will perform at the Grandstand on Saturday, Aug. 25. The 2018 Minnesota State Fair runs Aug. 23-Labor Day, Sept. 3 // Photo courtesy Minnesota State Fair

In natural Minnesotan fashion, we’re already looking past summer to the arrival of the Minnesota State Fair. We can’t help it! We’re gluttons for seasonal punishment (or just really love eating fried food among thousands of our closest friends.) With the announcement of the final three acts, the full 2018 Grandstand Concert Series has been released for this year’s fair.

The final three shows includes The Current’s Music-on-a-Stick showcase on Saturday, August 25, featuring Duluth bluegrass/folk group Trampled by Turtles—who just released their eighth studio album “Life Is Good On The Open Road” last week—indie folk rockers Lord Huron, and soulful singer-songwriter Lissie.

Also included in the latest announcement are country rockers Old Dominion, who just opened for Kenny Chesney at U.S. Bank Stadium over the weekend, with special guest Morgan Evans on Wednesday, August 29. Hairball: A Bombastic Celebration of Arena Rock will go down on Saturday, September 1, dubbed in the press release as “a rock & roll experience you won’t soon forget.”

Tickets for all three shows go on sale at noon this Friday, May 11.

Here is the full 2018 Grandstand Concert Series lineup:

Thursday, August 23 – Niall Horan with special guest Maren Morris

Friday, August 24 – Sugarland with special guests Frankie Ballard and Lindsay Ell

Saturday, August 25 – Trampled by Turtles with special guests Lord Huron and Lissie

Sunday, August 26 – Earth, Wind & Fire with special guest Sinbad

Monday, August 27 – The Beach Boys with special guest The Righteous Brothers

Tuesday, August 28 – Good Vibes with Jason Mraz and Brett Dennen

Wednesday, August 29 – Old Dominion with special guest Morgan Evans

Thursday, August 30 – truTV Impractical Jokers Starring The Tenderloins

Friday, August 31 – 311 and The Offspring with special guest Gym Class Heroes

Saturday, September 1 – Hairball: A Bombastic Celebration of Arena Rock

Sunday, September 2 – MSF Amateur Talent Contest Finals

Monday, September 3 – Boy George and Culture Club, The B-52s, and Thompson Twins’ Tom Bailey

 

DAILY PHOTO FROM THE ARCHIVE

Love this photo? Purchase a print and support The Growler. Visit growlermag.com/photo-archive view photos available for purchase, sizing, and pricing. 

Keep The Growler
Free and Independent

CONTRIBUTE TODAY

Your financial support helps ensure the future of The Growler as a free and independent publication that brings you the stories you care about.